Full Time Faculty

  • Teresa Abada

    Teresa Abada

    Associate Professor
    Economic and social integration of children of immigrants
    SSC 5429
    On Sabbatical July 1, 2019-December 31, 2019
    519-661-2111 x83690
    tabada@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Tracey Adams

    Tracey Adams

    Professor
    Professions, gender and work
    Regulation of professions in Canada (alternate health professions)
    SSC 5328
    On Sabbatical July 1, 2019-December 21, 2019
    519-661-2111 x85120
    tladams@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Karen (Kim) Ashby (aka Luton)

    Karen (Kim) Ashby (aka Luton)

    Lecturer
    Criminology, Wrongful Convictions, Human Trafficking
    SSC 5417
    Office Hours: Mon 11:30-12:30
    519-661-2111 x87177
    kim.ashby@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Dale Ballucci

    Dale Ballucci

    Assistant Professor
    Administration of criminal justice
    Legal regulation of children & youth
    Sociology of Law
    SSC 5403
    Office Hours: by appointment
    519-661-2111 x85140
    dballucc@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • David Calnitsky

    David Calnitsky

    Assistant Professor
    Work
    Inequality
    Social Theory
    SSC 5402
    Office Hours: Tues 9:00-10:00 or by appointment
    519-661-2111 x81380
    dcalnits@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Gale Cassidy

    Gale Cassidy

    Lecturer
    SSC 5405
    Office Hours: Wed 2:00-3:00 or by appointment
    519-661-2111 x83693
    gcassidy@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Kate H. Choi

    Kate H. Choi

    Associate Professor
    Family demography
    International migration
    Social stratification
    Quantitative methods
    SSC 5331
    On Sabbatical July 1, 2019-December 31, 2019
    519-661-2111 x85115
    hchoi228@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Lorraine Davies

    Lorraine Davies

    Associate Vice-Provost - SGPS
    Associate Professor
    Gender inequality
    Stree & women's health across the life course
    The effects of interpersonal violence on women's well-being
    IGAB 1N07
    On Leave until March 31, 2020
    519-661-2111 x81335
    ldavies@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Patrick Denice

    Patrick Denice

    Assistant Professor
    Stratification, race and ethicity
    Sociology of education
    Labour markets
    SSC 5407
    Office Hours: Tues 2:00-4:00pm
    519-661-2111 x85725
    pdenice@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Janice Forsyth

    Janice Forsyth

    Director - Indigenous Studies
    Associate Professor
    Aboriginal physical practices, health and identity
    Sport and Canadian culture
    Power relations & the body
    SSC 3208
    Office Hours: by appointment
    519-661-2111 x87341
    jforsyt3@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Michael Gardiner

    Michael Gardiner

    Professor
    Theories of affect (especially boredom)
    The everyday
    Utopia
    Dialogical social theory (the work of Mikhail Bakhtin in particular)
    SSC 5424
    Office Hours: Thurs 2:00-3:00pm or by appointment
    519-661-2111 x85139
    megardin@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Michael Haan

    Michael Haan

    CRC - Migration & Ethnic Relations
    Director-Statistics Canada RDC at Western
    Director-MER
    Associate Professor
    Demography, Immigrant settlement, Labour market integration, Data development
    SSC 5412
    Office Hours: by appointment
    519-661-2111 x85110
    michael.haan@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Warren E. (Ted) Hewitt

    Warren E. (Ted) Hewitt

    Professor
    On Leave - President SSHRC
    Brazil
    Social movements, local government and population health
    International cooperation for urban development in Latin America

  • Anders Holm

    Anders Holm

    Director - Centre for Research in Social Inequality
    Professor
    Quantitative methods
    Social stratification
    Sociology of health
    SSC 5327
    Office Hours: by appointment
    519-661-2111 x85515
    aholm@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Tess Hooks

    Tess Hooks

    Lecturer
    SSC 5322
    Office Hours: Mon 10:00-12:00pm
    519-661-2111 x84611
    thooks@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Laura Huey

    Laura Huey

    Professor
    Policing
    Victimization
    Trauma and resiliency
    Research and policy
    SSC 5213
    Office Hours: by appointment
    519-661-2111 x85151
    lhuey@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Wolfgang Lehmann

    Wolfgang Lehmann

    Acting Chair - Department of Sociology
    Professor
    Work, education and social inequality
    The interplay between structural factors & individual agency in school-work transitions
    SSC 5316
    Office Hours: Thurs 9:00-11:00am or by appointment
    519-661-2111 x85142
    wlehmann@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Rachel Margolis

    Rachel Margolis

    Associate Professor
    Demography
    Family
    Health and well-being
    SSC 5326
    On Sabbatical July 1, 2019-June 30, 2020
    519-661-2111 x82850
    rachel.margolis@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Anabel Quan-Haase

    Anabel Quan-Haase

    Professor
    Computer-mediated communication
    The networked society
    Social networks
    New media and social change
    SSC 5413
    519-661-2111 x86952
    aquanhaa@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Scott Schaffer

    Scott Schaffer

    Associate Professor
    Contemporary and global social theory
    The sociology of development
    Resistance movements
    The interplay between sociological theory, social policy and social change
    SSC 5411
    Office Hours: Wed 10:00-12:00pm & 4:45-6:00pm
    519-661-2111 x85122
    scott.schaffer@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Kim Shuey

    Kim Shuey

    Associate Professor
    Health inequality across the life course
    Work, health and aging in the new economy
    Nonstandard and precarious employment
    SSC 5426
    On Sabbatical July 1, 2019-December 30, 2019
    519-661-2111 x85135
    kshuey@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Sean  Waite

    Sean Waite

    Assistant Professor
    Social inequality
    LGBTQ and the labour market
    Criminology and deviance
    SSC 5401
    Office Hours: Tues 1:00-2:00pm
    519-661-2111 x87689
    swaite3@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Andrea Willson

    Andrea Willson

    Acting Undergraduate Chair - Department of Sociology
    Associate Professor
    Social inequalities in health
    Aging and the life course
    Social inequality
    SSC 5423
    519-661-2111 x85132
    willson@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Anna Zajacova

    Anna Zajacova

    Graduate Chair - Department of Sociology
    Associate Professor
    Health inequalities
    Social epidemiology
    Lifecourse and aging
    SSC 5330
    Office Hours: Mon 10:00-12:00pm & 4:30-5:30pm
    519-661-2111 x85123
    anna.zajacova@uwo.ca
    Biography