Full Time Faculty

  • Teresa Abada

    Teresa Abada

    Associate Professor
    Economic and social integration of children of immigrants
    SSC 5429
    519-661-2111 x83690
    tabada@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Tracey Adams

    Tracey Adams

    Professor
    Professions, gender and work
    Regulation of professions in Canada (alternate health professions)
    SSC 5328
    519-661-2111 x85120
    tladams@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Robert Andersen

    Robert Andersen

    Professor (cross-appointed)
    Associate Dean, Faculty Development, Ivey Business School
    Political sociology
    Social stratification
    Quantitative research methods and statistics

  • Karen (Kim) Ashby (aka Luton)

    Karen (Kim) Ashby (aka Luton)

    Lecturer
    Criminology, Wrongful Convictions, Human Trafficking
    SSC 5417
    519-661-2111 x87177
    kim.ashby@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Dale Ballucci

    Dale Ballucci

    Assistant Professor
    Administration of criminal justice
    Legal regulation of children & youth
    Sociology of Law
    SSC 5403
    519-661-2111 x85140
    dballucc@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • David Calnitsky

    David Calnitsky

    Assistant Professor
    Work
    Inequality
    Social Theory
    SSC 5402
    519-661-2111 x81380
    dcalnits@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Gale Cassidy

    Gale Cassidy

    Lecturer
    SSC 5405
    519-661-2111 x83693
    gcassidy@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Kate H. Choi

    Kate H. Choi

    Associate Professor
    Family demography
    International migration
    Social stratification
    Quantitative methods
    SSC 5331
    519-661-2111 x85115
    hchoi228@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Lorraine Davies

    Lorraine Davies

    Associate Vice-Provost - SGPS
    Associate Professor
    Gender inequality
    Stree & women's health across the life course
    The effects of interpersonal violence on women's well-being
    IGAB 1N07
    519-661-2111 x81335
    ldavies@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Patrick Denice

    Patrick Denice

    Assistant Professor
    Stratification, race and ethicity
    Sociology of education
    Labour markets
    SSC 5407
    519-661-2111 x85725
    pdenice@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Janice Forsyth

    Janice Forsyth

    Director - Indigenous Studies
    Associate Professor
    Aboriginal physical practices, health and identity
    Sport and Canadian culture
    Power relations & the body
    SSC 3208
    519-661-2111 x87341
    jforsyt3@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Michael Gardiner

    Michael Gardiner

    Professor
    Theories of affect (especially boredom)
    The everyday
    Utopia
    Dialogical social theory (the work of Mikhail Bakhtin in particular)
    SSC 5424
    519-661-2111 x85139
    megardin@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Michael Haan

    Michael Haan

    Director-Statistics Canada RDC at Western
    Director-MER
    Associate Professor
    Demography, Data development
    ,Immigrant settlement, Labour market integration
    SSC 5412
    519-661-2111 x85110
    michael.haan@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Warren E. (Ted) Hewitt

    Warren E. (Ted) Hewitt

    Professor
    On Leave - President SSHRC
    Brazil
    Social movements, local government and population health
    International cooperation for urban development in Latin America

  • Anders Holm

    Anders Holm

    Director - Centre for Research in Social Inequality
    Professor
    Quantitative methods
    Social stratification
    Sociology of health
    SSC 5327
    519-661-2111 x85515
    aholm@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Tess Hooks

    Tess Hooks

    Lecturer
    SSC 5322
    519-661-2111 x84611
    thooks@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Laura Huey

    Laura Huey

    Professor
    Policing
    Victimization
    Trauma and resiliency
    Research and policy
    SSC 5213
    519-661-2111 x85151
    lhuey@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Wolfgang Lehmann

    Wolfgang Lehmann

    Undergraduate Chair
    Professor
    Work, education and social inequality
    The interplay between structural factors & individual agency in school-work transitions
    SSC 5430
    519-661-2111 x85385
    wlehmann@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Rachel Margolis

    Rachel Margolis

    Associate Professor
    Demography
    Family
    Health and well-being
    SSC 5326
    519-661-2111 x82850
    rachel.margolis@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Anabel Quan-Haase

    Anabel Quan-Haase

    Professor
    Computer-mediated communication
    The networked society
    Social networks
    New media and social change
    SSC 5413
    519-661-2111 x86952
    aquan@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Howard Ramos

    Howard Ramos

    Chair
    Professor
    social justice and inequality, migration and immigration
    race
    research methods
    SSC 5316
    519 661-2111 x85142
    howard.ramos@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Scott Schaffer

    Scott Schaffer

    Associate Professor
    Contemporary and global social theory
    The sociology of development
    Resistance movements
    The interplay between sociological theory, social policy and social change
    SSC 5411
    519-661-2111 x85122
    scott.schaffer@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Kim Shuey

    Kim Shuey

    Acting Graduate Chair
    Associate Professor
    Health inequality across the life course
    Work, health and aging in the new economy
    Nonstandard and precarious employment
    SSC 5426
    519-661-2111 x85135
    kshuey@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Sean  Waite

    Sean Waite

    Assistant Professor
    Social inequality
    LGBTQ and the labour market
    Criminology and deviance
    SSC 5401
    519-661-2111 x87689
    swaite3@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Andrea Willson

    Andrea Willson

    Associate Professor
    Social inequalities in health
    Aging and the life course
    Social inequality
    SSC 5423
    519-661-2111 x85132
    willson@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Yoko Yoshida

    Yoko Yoshida

    Associate Professor
    ethnicity, race
    immigrant integration
    social justice and inequality
    SSC 5409
    519 661-2111 x85045
    yoko.yoshida@uwo.ca
    Biography

  • Anna Zajacova

    Anna Zajacova

    Associate Professor
    Health inequalities
    Social epidemiology
    Lifecourse and aging
    SSC 5330
    On Sabbatical July 1-Dec. 31, 2020
    519-661-2111 x85123
    anna.zajacova@uwo.ca
    Biography