Full-Time Faculty

Teresa Abada, Associate Professor
Director, Collaborative Graduate Program in Migration and Ethnic Relations (MER)

Teresa Abada
  • Social, cultural, human capital
  • Migration
  • Immigrant health
  • Immigrant integration
  • Economic and social integration of children of immigrants

SSC 5429
519-661-2111 x83690
tabada@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Tracey Adams, Professor

Tracey Adams
  • Work
  • Professions
  • Regulation of professions in Canada
  • Social inequality
  • Gendered professions
  • Health professions
On Leave - January 1 to June 30, 2023
SSC 5328
519-661-2111 x85120
tladams@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Robert Andersen, Professor (cross-listed)

Robert Andersen
  • Social stratification
  • Democracy and capitalism
  • Political economy
  • Business environments
  • Inequality
  • Values and attitudes

IVEY 3112C
519-661-3987
bob.andersen@ivey.ca
Faculty Profile

Karen (Kim) Ashby - (aka Luton), Lecturer

Karen Kim Ashby - aka Luton
  • Criminology
  • Wrongful convictions
  • Human trafficking
  • Sociology of deviance
  • Women and crime
  • Serial Killers

SSC 5417
519-661-2111 ext. 87177
kim.ashby@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Dale Ballucci, Assistant Professor

Dale Ballucci
  • Sociology of Law
  • Sociology of childhood
  • Criminology and Policing
  • Young offenders
  • Theories of Governance
  • Administration of the criminal justice system

SSC 5403
519-661-2111 x85140
dballucc@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Lauren Barr, Lecturer
Learning Administrator, London Health Science Centre

Lauren Barr
  • education
  • health
  • deviance
  • gender

lbarr2@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 ext. 85145
SSC 5432
Faculty Profile

David Calnitsky, Assistant Professor

David Calnitsky
  • Economic Sociology
  • Inequality
  • Gender
  • Work
  • Poverty
  • Social policy

Kate H. Choi, Associate Professor
Director, Centre for Research on Social Inequality

Kate Choi
  • Social inequality
  • Social Stratification
  • International migration
  • Family demography
  • Racial and socioeconomic disparities
On Leave - January 1 to June 30, 2023
SSC 5331
519-661-2111 x85115
kate.choi@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Lorraine Davies, Associate Professor
Associate Vice-Provost, School of Graduate and Post-Doctoral Studies

Lorraine Davies
  • Family structure and health
  • Gender inequality and social policy
  • Interpersonal relationships and well-being
  • Gender and mental health
  • Intimate partner violence

IGAB 1N07
519-661-2111 x81335
ldavies@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Patrick Denice, Assistant Professor

Patrick Denice
  • Social inequality, social stratification, and mobility
  • Life course
  • Education
  • Labour markets
  • Union and non-union influences on wages

SSC 5407
519-661-2111 x85725
pdenice@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Janice Forsyth, Associate Professor

Janice Forsyth
  • Aboriginal physical practices, health, and identity
  • Power relations and the body
  • Sociology of sport
  • Sport and Canadian culture
  • Canadian sport history
On Leave - July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023
SSC 5211
519-661-2111 x84849
janice.forsyth@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Michael Gardiner, Professor

Michael Gardiner
  • Sociological theory
  • Theories of affect (especially boredom)
  • Sociology of the everyday
  • Utopia
  • Dialogical social theory (the work of Mikhail Bakhtin in particular)

SSC 5424
519-661-2111 x85139
megardin@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Jasmine Ha, Assistant Professor

Jasmine Ha
  • International migration
  • Migration statistics
  • International education
  • Globalization
  • Sustainability

SSC 5208
519-661-2111 x85118
jasmine.ha@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Michael Haan, Associate Professor
Director, Statistics Canada Research Data Centre at Western

Michael Haan
  • Demography
  • Immigrant settlement
  • Labour market integration
  • Migration
  • Data development
  • Longitudinal data analysis

SSC 5412
519-661-2111 x85110
michael.haan@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Warren E. (Ted) Hewitt, Professor
President, SSHRC

Warren E. (Ted) Hewitt
  • Brazil
  • Social movements
  • Development and underdevelopment
  • Local government and population health
  • International cooperation for urban development in Latin America

Anders Holm, Professor

Anders Holm
  • Quantitative methods
  • Socioeconomic status over the lifecourse
  • Social stratification
  • Inter-generational mobility
  • Sociology of health

SSC 5327
519-661-2111 x 85515
aholm@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Tess Hooks, Lecturer

Tess Hooks
  • Social inequality
  • Social change and development
  • Gender
  • Women and third world development
  • Motherhood and mothering

SSC 5322
519-661-2111 x 84611
thooks@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Laura Huey, Professor

Laura Huey
  • Policing
  • Criminal victimization
  • Mental health
  • Extremism
  • Qualitative research methods
  • Evidence based policy-making

SSC 5213
519-661-2111 x85151
lhuey@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Wolfgang Lehmann, Professor

Wolfgang Lehmann
  • Social inequality
  • Social class
  • Sociology of work
  • Higher education
  • Vocational education
  • School-work transitions

SSC 5430
519-661-2111 x85385
wlehmann@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Rachel Margolis, Associate Professor
Undergraduate Chair, Department of Sociology

Rachel Margolis
  • Demography
  • Social inequality
  • Family change
  • Aging

SSC 5326
519-661-2111 x82850
rachel.margolis@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Julie McMullin, Professor

Julie McMullin
  • Social Inequality
  • Aging and the Life Course
  • Gender Inequality
  • Family
  • Paid and Unpaid Work

SSC 5206
519 661-2111 x83689
mcmullin@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Kaitlynn Mendes, Associate Professor

Kaitlynn Mendes
  • Gender inequality
  • Social media
  • Sexual violence
  • Youth
  • Mixed methods research

SSC 5415
519-661-2111 x87356
kaitlynn.mendes@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Robert Nonomura, Assistant Professor

Robert Nonomura
  • Gender-Based Violence
  • Sociology of Morality
  • Trauma- and Violence-Informed Research
  • Knowledge Mobilization and Public Sociology
rnonomur@uwo.ca
Office Hours: By Appointment
Faculty Profile

Anabel Quan-Haase, Professor
Rogers Chair in Studies in Journalism and New Information Technology

Anabel Quan-Haase
  • New media and social change
  • Digital activism
  • Social media
  • Social networks
  • Digital social capital
  • Scholarly digital communication

SSC 5413
519-661-2111 x86952
aquan@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Howard Ramos, Professor
Chair, Sociology

Ramos_sm.jpg
  • Political sociology
  • Immigration
  • Equity, diversity, inclusion
  • Social change
  • Media studies
  • Secondary cities

SSC 5316
519-661-2111 x85142
howard.ramos@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Scott Schaffer, Associate Professor

Scott Schaffer
  • Contemporary and global social theory
  • Processes of social change
  • Social inclusion
  • Social ethics
  • Public sociology
  • Cultural critique, and Resistance movements

SSC 5411
519-661-2111 x85122
scott.schaffer@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Kim Shuey, Professor

Kim Shuey
  • Health and disability across the life course
  • Transmission of health across generations
  • Precarious employment, work and health
  • Environmental sociology.

SSC 5426
519-661-2111 x85135
kshuey@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Sean Waite, Assistant Professor

Sean Waite
  • Social inequality
  • Gender inequality
  • Higher education outcomes
  • LGBTQ and the labour market
  • LGBTQ identity, poverty and health
  • Criminology and deviance

SSC 5401
519-661-2111 x87689
swaite3@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Andrea Willson, Associate Professor

Andrea Willson
  • Social inequality over the life course
  • Aging and the life course
  • Health effects of socioeconomic status across generations
  • Quantitative research
On Leave - July 1 to December 31, 2022
SSC 5423
519-661-2111 x85132
willson@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Yoko Yoshida, Associate Professor

Yoshida_sm.jpg
  • Immigration and integration
  • Social statistics
  • Race and ethnicity
  • Social inequality
  • Inequality in health

SSC 5409
519-661-2111 x85045
yoko.yoshida@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile

Anna Zajacova, Associate Professor
Graduate Chair, Department of Sociology

Anna Zajacova
  • Social epidemiology
  • Health inequalities
  • Demography
  • Lifecourse and aging
  • Ethnicity
  • Quantitative methods

SSC 5330
519-661-2111 x85123
anna.zajacova@uwo.ca
Faculty Profile