Western University SociologyFaculty of Social Science

PhD Graduate Students

Ari

Esra Ari

  • Research Interests: Social inequality; Globalization; Migration; Race and ethnicity; Racialization; Social class; Multiculturalism; Ideology
  • Tentative Dissertation Title: Multicultural Ideology: Is it false consciousness? A comparative study of second-generation Jamaicans and second-generation Portuguese in Toronto
  • Supervisor: Anton Allahar

eari@uwo.ca
SSC 5225

Aslam

Awish Aslam

  • Research Interests: Race-ethnicity; School-work transitions; Labour market integration of immigrants; Experiences of second-generation immigrant youth
  • Supervisor: Tracey  Adams

aaslam5@uwo.ca
SSC 5438

Babe

Glenda Babe

gbabe@uwo.ca
SSC 5321

Bikos

Lesley Bikos

  • Research Interests: Criminology with a particular focus on policing; Gender; Work and occupation
  • Supervisor: Tracey Adams
Bruijns

Leona Bruijns

lbruijns@uwo.ca
SSC 5438

Calhoun

Ashley Calhoun

  • Supervisor: Michael Haan
Chai

Xiangnan Chai

  • Research Interests: Criminology and mental health; Cultural sociology; Aging and the life course

xchai4@uwo.ca
SSC 5311

Cordoba

Allison Cordoba

  • Research Topic: The Possibilities and Boundaries for Women Displaced by Conflict in Choco, Colombia
  • Supervisor: Scott Schaffer
Courey

Mike Courey

  • Research Interests: Criminology; Youth studies; Community development; Urban sociology
  • Supervisor: Wolfgang Lehmann

mcourey@uwo.ca
SSC 5225

Davidson

Cliff Davidson

  • Research Interests: Sociology of education; Sociology of youth; Visual sociology
  • Supervisor: Wolfgang Lehmann
Davis

Rory Davis

rdavis42@uwo.ca
SSC 5321

Elgie

Jen Elgie

  • Supervisor: Jerry White

jelgie3@uwo.ca
SSC 5315

1nophoto

Michael Haight

  • Research Topic: Digital Inequality in Canada: Understanding Differentiated Use of the Internet
  • Supervisor: Anabel Quan-Haase
Heidinger

Loanna Heidinger

  • Research Interests: Sociology of health; Sociology of mental health; Lifecourse research
  • Supervisor: Andrea Willson

lheidin@uwo.ca
SSC 5225

Jackson

Melissa Jackson

  • Research Topic: Investigating the impact of churn migration on Aboriginal youth in relation to their ties to their home communities and with one another. How elders view this movement and the relationships it impacts
  • Supervisor: Jerry White

mjacks52@uwo.ca
SSC 5225

Kalyal

Hina Jawaid Kalyal

  • Research Interests: Evidence-based policing; Community policing; Public sector change
  • Supervisor: Laura Huey
Kwon

Eugena Kwon

  • Supervisor: Tracey Adams

ekwon22@uwo.ca
SSC 5419

LuuLy

Tina Luu Ly

tluuly@uwo.ca
SSC 5438

MacCormac

Megan MacCormac

  • Supervisor: Tracey Adams

mmaccor2@uwo.ca
SSC 5321

Miele

Rachelle Miele

  • Supervisor: Lorraine Davies

rmiele@uwo.ca
SSC 5436

Robert Nonomura

Robert Nonomura

  • Research Interests: Critical theory; Sociology of morality; Sociology of knowledge
  • Supervisors: Chuck Levine, Scott Schaffer

rnonomur@uwo.ca
SSC 5415

Peladeau

Hillary Peladeau

  • Research Interests: Radicalism; Gender; Social Media; Criminology
  • Supervisor: Laura Huey

hpeladea@uwo.ca
SSC 5434

Ramey

Nick Ramey

  • Supervisor: Scott Schaffer

rramey@uwo.ca
SSC 5436

Rooyakkers

Michael Rooyakkers

  • Research Topic: Sexual Orientation, Stress & Mental Health: Heteronormativity as a ‘Fundamental Cause’ of Mental Health
  • Supervisor: Lorraine Davies
Sano

Yuji Sano

  • Supervisor: Teresa Abada

ysano@uwo.ca
SSC 5225

Skinner

Samantha Skinner

Thakur

Syna Thakur

  • Supervisor: Lorraine Davies

sthakur4@uwo.ca
SSC 5315

Torrens

Beth Torrens

  • Research Topic: Gender and Sexuality-Based Bullying: Student Educational Resiliency and Teacher and Administrator Intervention Experiences
  • Supervisor: Wolfgang Lehmann

etorrens@uwo.ca
SSC 5420

Watts

Brendan Watts

  • Supervisor: Tracey Adams

bwatts3@uwo.ca
SSC 5436

Winder

Natahnee Winder

  • Research Topic: Post-Secondary Education Indigenous Students’ Perspectives: Sharing Our Voices on How We Fit into Residential School History of Canada & the United States using Photo-Voice
  • Supervisor: Jerry White
Young-Marcellin

Julie Young-Marcellin

  • Research Topic: Pathways to Empowerment: Microfinance, Agency and the Cultural Consequences of Knowledge Exchange
  • Supervisor: Tracey Adams

jyoungma@uwo.ca
SSC 5225