PhD Graduate Students

Maria Ahmed

Maria-Ahmed.jpg

Research interests: health inequality, social inequality, life course 

Supervisor: Dr. Kim Shuey

Kamma Andersen

Kamma-website.jpg

Research interests: Sociology of Education, Stratification, Inequality,  Social Mobility, and Labour Market Inequality 

Supervisors: Dr. Kim Shuey and Dr. Anders Holm

kande42@uwo.ca
SSC 5406

Matthew Arkinstall

Arkinstall-web.jpg

Research interests: Canadian Human Rights Law, Discrimination, and Social Inequality

Supervisor: Dr. Howard Ramos

markinst@uwo.ca
SSC 5436

Awish Aslam

Aslam_website.jpg

Research interests: inequality and mobility, work, migration, and social citizenship.

Supervisors: Dr. Tracey Adams & Dr. Wolfgang Lehmann

aaslam5@uwo.ca
SSC 5438

Glenda Babe

Glenda Babe

gbabe@uwo.ca
SSC 5321

George Botchey

Botchey-web.jpg

Research interest: Immigration and Labour Market Integration.

Anne-Marie Bresee

Bresee

Research interests: Sociology of Education, Organization of the Workplace

Supervisor: Dr. Tracey Adams

abresee@uwo.ca
SSC 5225

Ashley Calhoun

Ashley Calhoun

Research interests: demography, residential mobility, quantitative methods
Supervisor: Dr. Michael Haan

Shahar Dangur-Levy

Shahar Dangur-Levy

Research interests: Social stratification, sociology of education, human agency with a particular focus on self-efficacy

Supervisors: Dr. Robert Andersen and Dr. Anders Holm

sdangur@uwo.ca
SSC 5323

Cliff Davidson

Cliff Davidson

Research Interests: Sociology of education; Sociology of youth; Visual sociology

Supervisor: Wolfgang Lehmann

Rory Davis

Rory Davis

rdavis42@uwo.ca
SSC 5321

Andrea Dean

Andrea Dean

Research interests: Ideology & Social Inequality; 'Race', Class, Gender & Colonialism; Postcolonialism; Reproduction of Racial Boundaries in the Workplace; Bermuda

asdean@uwo.ca
SSC 5436

Elena Draghici

Elena Hillman

Research interests: Social assistance, poverty, social inequality, employment, and government policy.

Supervisor: Dr. Anders Holm

ehillma@uwo.ca
SSC 5323

Melissa Elliott

Melissa Elliott

Research interests: social inequality in crime and victimization

Supervisor: Dr. Sean Waite

mellio57@uwo.ca
SSC 5333
link to Melissa Elliott on LinkedIn

Lorna Ferguson

Lorna_profile_web.jpg

Research interests: Missing persons and policing
Supervisor: Dr. Laura Huey

lfergu5@uwo.ca
SSC 5211
Twitter link to Lorna Ferguson's Twitter

Lindsay Finlay

Finlay-web.jpg

Research interests:  immigration, migration, immigrant settlement, and rural Canada.

Supervisor: Dr. Michael Haan

Sam Ghebrai

Ghebrai.jpg

Research interests: Gender identity; gender expression; Canadian criminal law; Canadian immigration policy; transitional justice and post-conflict reconstruction

Supervisor: Dr. Dale Ballucci

sghebrai@uwo.ca
SSC 5434

Link to Sam Ghebrai LinkedIn

Lyn Hoang

Lyn Hoang

Research interests: The legitimation of social media and internet based occupations, Work and Occupations, The perpetuation of social Inequality online, Life Course 
Supervisor: Dr. Tracey Adams

lhoang3@uwo.ca
SSC 5333

Alyssa Holden

Alyssa Holden

aholden5@uwo.ca
SSC 5320

William Hollingshead

William Hollingshead

Research interests: Computational sociology; Public opinion on social media; Populist social movements; Nationalism

Supervisor: Dr. A. Quan-Haase

whollin@uwo.ca
SSC 5434

Reem Kadri

Kadri-web.jpg

Research interests: health inequality, the intergenerational transmission of health, migration and ethnic relations, racial and ethnic discrimination, and structural inequality

Supervisor: Dr. Andrea Willson

Jacek Koziarski

Koziarski_website.jpg

Research interests: Crime Science; Evaluation; Mental Health; Policing; Spatial Criminology.

Supervisor: Dr. Laura Huey

Yuchen Li

LiYuchen-web.jpg

Research interests: immigration policy and temporary foreign workers; labour market integration of immigrants

Supervisor: Dr. Michael Haan

Merita Limani

Limani_M_web.jpg

Research interests: Sociology of Health, Gender, Social Inequalities, Demography, Gender-based Violence.

Supervisor: Dr. Anna Zajacova

mlimani2@uwo.ca
SSC 5436

Megan MacCormac

Megan MacCormac

Supervisor: Tracey Adams

mmaccor2@uwo.ca
SSC 5321

Holly Meaney

Holly Meaney

hmeaney@uwo.ca
SSC 5408

Alexander McIntosh

McIntosh_web.jpg

Research interests: social theory, political economy, working class studies.

amcint69@uwo.ca
SSC 5436 (appointment by request)

Katelyn Mitri

Katelyn Mitri

Research interests: precarious work; nonstandard work; sociology of higher education; and social inequality
Supervisor: Dr. Sean Waite

kmitri@uwo.ca
SSC 5434

Shannon Mok

Shannon Mok

Research interests: social inequality in the labour market; intersectionality; quantitative methods.

Supervisor: Sean Waite

smok47@uwo.ca
SSC 5333

Janet Moore

Moore_website.jpg

Research interests: sociology of family

Supervisor: Janice Forsyth

Bruna Moraes

Moraes-web.jpg

Research interests: 

Supervisor: Dr. Tracey Adams

Isaac Mpinda

Mpinda

Research interests: social demography, immigrants' settlement and integration, quantitative methods, social policy and protection.

Supervisor: Dr. Michael Haan

impinda@uwo.ca
SSC 5438

Vesna Pajovic

Vesna Pajovic

vpajovic@uwo.ca
SSC 5323

Ina Palii

Palii_web.jpg

Research interests: immigration and immigrant integration; health inequalities and socio-economic outcomes of immigrants

Supervisor: Dr. Y. Yoshida

ipalii@uwo.ca
SSC 5333

Taylor Paul

Taylor Paul

Research interests: Inequality in labour markets; Social stratification; Gender and racial stratification; Quantitative research methods

Supervisor: Dr. Patrick Denice

tpaul29@uwo.ca
SSC 5312

Estefanía Reyes

Reyes-web.jpg

Research interests: Gender inequality, body politics, feminist activism, qualitative research

Supervisor: Dr. Kaitlynn Mendes

ereyes8@uwo.ca
SSC 5332

Priscila Ribeiro Prado Barros

Ribeiro_web.jpg

Research interests:  indigenous peoples.

Supervisor: Dr. Warren Hewitt

pribeir2@uwo.ca
SSC 5332

Michelle Robinson

logo-profile-photo.jpg

Research interests: 

Stephen Sartor

Sartor_profile_web.jpg

Research interests: Sociology of Education; Stratification; Inequality; Social Mobility; Quantitative Methods

Supervisor: Dr. Patrick Denice

ssartor5@uwo.ca
SSC 5434

Samantha Skinner

Samantha Skinner

Matthew Stackhouse

Stackhouse_M_web.jpg

Research interests: Population health; quantitative methods; health across the life course; parenting; environmental sociology.

Supervisor: Dr. Andrea Willson

mstackh@uwo.ca
SSC 5225D

Yue Teng

Yue-Teng.jpg

Research interests: family, demography and health

Supervisor: Dr. Rachel Margolis

yteng43@uwo.ca
CAnD3 fellow 2022-2023
SSC 5436

Syna Thakur

Syna Thakur

Supervisor: Lorraine Davies

sthakur4@uwo.ca
SSC 5315

Xiaoxi Wang

Xiaoxi Wang

Research interests: immigration policy; immigrants' mobility and their social network; statistics and quantitative methods.

Supervisor: Dr. Michael Haan

xwan945@uwo.ca
SSC 5319

Haniya Waseem

Waseem_profile_web.jpg

Research interests: Inequalities within Work 

Supervisor: Dr. T. Adams

hwaseem2@uwo.ca
SSC 5436

Marina Wiebe

Marina Wiebe

Research interests: 

mwiebe25@uwo.ca
SSC 5319