Western University SociologyFaculty of Social Science

Health and Health Inequality

Faculty working in this area use sociological approaches to understand health as a manifestation of broader structures of social inequality. Research includes examinations of cumulative advantage processes as mechanisms of health inequality, social mobility and trajectories of health, inequality in health behaviours and well-being, health professions, work and health, intimate partner violence, and Aboriginal well-being.

Current Projects

Completed Projects

Faculty Experts in Health and Health Inequality

Tracey Adams, Professor
Chair, Department of Sociology

Tracey Adams
  • Professions, gender and work
  • Regulation of professions in Canada (alternate health professions)

tladams@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x85142
SSC 5328
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

Lorraine Davies, Associate Professor
Associate Vice-Provost, School of Graduate and Post-Doctoral Studies

Lorraine Davies
  • Gender inequality
  • Stress and women’s health across the life course
  • The effects of interpersonal violence on women’s well-being

ldavies@uwo.ca
519-661-2102
SSB 4180
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

Rachel Margolis, Assistant Professor

Rachel Margolis
  • Demography
  • Family
  • Health and Well-being

rachel.margolis@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x82850
SSC 5326
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

Kim Shuey, Associate Professor
Graduate Chair, Sociology

Kim Shuey
  • Health inequality across the life course
  • Work, health, and aging in the new economy
  • Nonstandard and precarious employment

kshuey@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x85135
SSC 5426
office hours: by appointment
Faculty Profile

Jerry White, Professor
Director, Aboriginal Policy Research Consortium (International)
Co-Director, Indigenous Health and Well-being Initiative
Director, IndigiLINK World Social Networking for Indigenous Scholars, Communities, Educators and Policy Makers

Jerry White
  • Aboriginal Well-being
  • Social and Economic development of Indigenous peoples
  • Educational attainment of Indigenous peoples

white@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x85230
SSC 5412
Faculty Profile

Andrea Willson, Associate Professor

Andrea Willson
  • Social inequality of the life course
  • Longitudinal data methods
  • Socioeconomic status and health

willson@uwo.ca
519-661-2111 x85132
SSC 5423
Faculty Profile